top of page
  • Writer's pictureClement Chan

AUS230 Learning Journal - W6


Final Delivery


Tuesday Self Study

The WIP (Work In Progress) mix for A Quiet Place 2 that I showed last week lacked finish, the feedback for it was that it could not be shown to a potential customer. Thus I made sure I worked over the weekend to finish a version that would be suitable for feedback by Wednesday.


I booked the S6 later in the evening to mix and add more drama to the opening scene where people are running away. I went online and sourced more sounds like male and female screams and also looked into panning the screams to match the the position of people as they tried to avoid the car.


Wednesday Session

During today's session was mainly used to gain further feedback on our current AQPII progress and work on our blogging material. I was able to show a 95% done trailer and get feedback from Nick. I continued to the work on the project until it was complete by the end of the session.


Fridays Session

After uploading all of the required materials uploaded our final submission that was to be viewed in the theatre. Everyone who was able to attend presented their version and was able to gain feedback with their mix. David Page, our course coordinator was able to attend and provide an external perspective and took the role of a client. We listened to everyone's mix and I gained a new perspective and it was quite incredible to watch so many different takes to the same trailer.


Week 6 Summary

Personal Situation

This week has been a stressful since I am undertaking full time study, finding work outside my study hours has been difficult. Financially this has made my situation a bit dire as I am dipping into my savings again. The long commute to Brisbane from the Gold Coast doesn't help either I lose 3 hours each day I am at Uni to driving time. My 5 month old son has only just begun sleeping more regularly. I had several fights with my wife over being too loud when mixing and sound designing with speakers. I couldn't wear headphones for much this week because I was getting heat sores behind my ear lobes from wearing them for too long. This week has been a stressful since I am undertaking full time study, finding work outside my study hours has been difficult. The long commute to Brisbane from the Gold Coast doesn't help either I lose 3 hours each day I am at Uni to driving time. The Coronovirus has been officially labelled an pandemic and rumor has it that there will be social distancing put into effect next week by the government. Going forward is going to be rough and I feel I'm starting to lose my sanity.


Work Situation

Specifically with my interpretation I felt that when compared with other peoples mixes my mix was a bit quiet even though I had mixed it to -14LuFS integrated in the S6. I can see that possibly other peoples work may not have been mixed to the correct levels but that is OK because it really high lighted the perceptual phenomenon that its sounds "better when its louder". Even though the entire mix conformed to -14Lufs integrated my mix sounded quieter in the theatre when others are louder. This is useful to know and to take note of when mixing. Being louder can be used as a cheap way to make your mix sound "better" than other peoples tracks. I see the relevance in industry why it has led to loudness wars, when you're fighting for customers attention in a 2 minute movie trailer, many livelihoods are reliant of how successful the trailer was in converting patrons into future customers.


From the feedback it seemed that what I made seemed to be able to work and that I was going the right way. The extra drama that I was able to incorporate in the final mix Some notes from the review process gave me a good pointers on what was needed to be done before final submission.





 



Recent Posts

See All

POSTMORTEM - Social Conscious

The final deliverable The final deliverable Introduction This project was initially a podcast that focused on how the Covid-19 virus has affected the Asian community especially young people in Brisban

bottom of page